Skip to content

Is it Wrong to Laugh?

by on November 7, 2010

Wednesday, September 29, 2010, marked this year’s Cool Breeze event in the Lyceum. Cool Breeze is an event founded by Alpha Phi Alpha to raise support for sickle cell anemia research and to elevate awareness of the disease.  The event consisted of live music and a skit that left the audience gasping for air from laughter.  Webb wrote this skit with one intent in mind – to leave people dying for more.  The first segment of the mock “Dating Game Show” included five characters from five different spectrums of life.  One that stuck out the most was the Vietnamese man who was only on the show to get married so he could become an American citizen.

The contestant asked him, “If you were to make me upset, what would you do to make it better?” His response, in broken English twanged with a heavy Vietnamese accent, was “I would Kung Fu kick you in face because whatever you mad about I’m sure you make me mad first.”  When the contestant asked, “who is on the 100, 20, and 5 dollar bill?”, his response was “I can’t tell you who is on the 100 dollar bill… but I can give you three wings and fried rice for only five dollars.”

I laughed like I have never laughed before when I was watching this skit.  However, by the end of the night I felt convicted for laughing so much.  Is it wrong to laugh at the negative stereotypes of other nationalities?

From → B.B.M.S.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

